Queens Counsel Appointments Announced

first_img James Gregg, Halifax J. Patrick Morris, Bridgewater M. Louise Campbell, Guysborough Robert Sampson, Sydney Peter Darling, Halifax Paul Radford, Halifax Margaret Shears, Halifax G. Douglas Sealy, Dartmouth John Fitzpatrick, Dartmouth Jean Dewolfe, Kentville Jocelyn Campbell, Halifax John Kulik, Halifax Daniel Graham, Halifax Thilairani (Tilly) Pillay, Halifax “I am pleased to acknowledge these individuals for their achievements in the legal profession and for their personal contributions to their communities,” added Mr. Clarke. “This important designation recognizes the accomplishments and leadership of these exemplary professionals.” Recommendations for Q.C. appointments are made to cabinet by an 11-member advisory committee. Eligibility criteria for Queen’s counsel appointments include: professional integrity; outstanding contributions to the practice of law; an exceptional contribution through teaching or continuing legal education; demonstration of exceptional qualities of leadership in the profession; or engaging in activities of a public or charitable nature in such a way as to raise the esteem in which the legal profession is held by the public. Fourteen recipients of the prestigious Queen’s Counsel (Q.C.) designation were announced today, Feb. 8, by Justice Minister and Attorney General Cecil Clarke. “A well-functioning justice system is a key element of any democratic society,” said Mr. Clarke. “Dedicated members of the legal profession play a crucial role in ensuring our collective well-being.” The appointees are:last_img read more